Time Off and Employment Leave Laws
Paid Leave Summary Chart - Non-Collective Bargaining Unit employees
Employment Contracts - Collective Bargaining Unit employees
Certain types of leave are eligible for special protection under the law. Information on these employment leave laws can be found below.
- Family & Medical Leave
- Parental Leave
- Small Necessities Leave
- Military Leave
- Jury Duty Leave
- Domestic Violence Leave
- Families First Coronavirus Response Act
The Town will comply with the requirements of the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA), as may be amended, which allows FMLA-eligible employees up to twelve (12) weeks of leave time each year for specific reasons stated in the Act and up to 26 workweeks during a single 12-month period for military caregiver leave as described in the Act. FMLA (Family and Medical Leave Act) Leave may consist of either or both paid and unpaid leave; when an employee qualifies for FMLA Leave, the Town may require that paid leave be designated as FMLA Leave.
To be eligible for FMLA leave, an employee must have been employed by the Town at least 12 months and provided at least 1,250 hours of service to the Town during the previous 12-month period.
Employee Rights Under FMLA
FMLA Fact Sheet
FMLA Fact Sheet - Military Family Leave
FMLA Fact Sheet - In Loco Parentis Care for a Parent
FMLA Fact Sheet - In Loco Parentis for Birth, Bonding or Care for a Child
Note: The birth or adoption of a child is also a qualifying reason for leave under the Massachusetts Parental Leave law, although there are different eligibility rules. Please see Family & Medical Leave tab for more information.
Parental leave may consist of either or both paid and unpaid leave. An employee shall only be eligible for pay if he/she is eligible to use accrued benefits such as vacation, personal sick leave. An employee shall not be required to use available paid leave during parental leave.
MA Parental Leave Law Fact Sheet
Note: The birth or adoption of a child is also a qualifying reason for leave under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), although there are different eligibility rules. Please see Family & Medical Leave tab for more information.
The Town will comply with the requirements of the Massachusetts Small Necessities Leave Act (SNLA), M.G.L. c. 149, s.52D, as may be amended, which allows SNLA-eligible employees up to a total of 24 hours of leave during any 12-month period for the following purposes:
- to participate in school activities directly related to the educational advancement of a son or daughter of the employee, such as parent-teacher conferences or interviewing for a new school;
- to accompany the son or daughter of the employee to routine medical or dental appointments, such as check-ups or vaccinations;
- to accompany an elderly relative of the employee to routine medical or dental appointments or appointments for professional services related to the elder’s care, such as interviewing at nursing or group homes.
SNLA leave may consist of either or both paid and unpaid leave. The Town may require employees to substitute accrued paid leave for any leave provided under the SNLA.
To be eligible for SNLA leave, the employee must have been employed by the Town for at least 12 months and provided at least 1,250 hours of service to the Town during the previous 12-month period.
Small Necessities Leave Act Advisory
The Town shall comply with all applicable federal and state regulations that provide paid and/or unpaid military leave, including M.G.L. Chapter 33, Section 59, which has been adopted by the Town. An employee may elect to voluntarily use any of his/her accrued paid leave to cover periods of military leave that would otherwise be unpaid by the Town.
An employee who requires leave to meet his/her military commitments must notify the Director in writing of the need for such leave as soon as practicable.
An employee who is called for jury duty on a regularly scheduled work day must advise the his or her within one week of receiving notice from the Court. The employee will be released from work in order to serve on jury duty; however, if he/she is released from jury duty in any given day with sufficient time to report to work and perform at least two (2) hours of his/her remaining scheduled hours, he/she must do so.
An employee will not be required to work past midnight prior to reporting for jury duty on any given day, nor will he/she be required to work on his/her last day of juror service if released by the Court after 4:00 p.m.
An employee who has performed juror service will be compensated in accordance with M.G.L. Chapter 234A, Section 48, and any regulations issued in accordance with Section 47, provided he/she presents to the Town a certificate issued by the Court verifying the date(s) served.
The Massachusetts Act Relative to Domestic Violence provides up to 15 days of leave per year for victims of domestic violence or their family members. This leave may only be used for certain purposes—please refer to M.G.L., Chapter 149, Section 52E for more details.MA Act Relative to Domestic Violence